# MEETING NO: 13-12-D BENEFIT REVIEW COMMITTEE

The Regular Meeting of the Benefit Review Committee of the Board of Trustees was held Thursday, December 19, 2013. Present at the meeting were Committee members, Copper, Piechocinski, Kuehne, Henry, and Stulir; IMRF Medical Consultants Dr. Miller and Dr. Rao; and IMRF staff members, Dixon, Seputis, Janicki Clark, and Raitt.

Absent: Trustee Stafford

### (13-12-01)(Roll call)

Mrs. Copper presided as chairperson and called the meeting to order at 11:30 a.m.

(13-12-02)(Approval of prior meeting minutes)

The Benefits Manager presented the minutes from the Committee meeting held on November 21, 2013.

After discussion, Mrs. Henry moved to approve the minutes. Seconded by Mr. Stulir.

Motion passed by unanimous voice vote

(13-12-03)(Total and Permanent Disability Extent Denial - Re-Hearing on remand from Circuit Court - Patricia Burger - McHenry County )

See attached report

After further discussion, the Committee recommends that the Board uphold staff's latest determination to deny the application for total and permanent disability benefits filed by Patricia Burger.

Motion: Piechocinski

Second: Stulir

Ayes: Piechocinski, Kuehne, Stulir, Henry, Copper

Nays: None Motion Passed: 5-0

Drs. Miller and Rao left the meeting

(13-12-04)(Disputed Participation in the Original IMRF ECO Plan Hearing – Kathleen Konicki – Will County)

See attached report

After further discussion, the Committee recommends that the Board uphold staff's determinations that the Committee does not have the ability to declare P.A. 91-0685 unconstitutional, that Kathleen Konicki does not qualify to convert her service to Original ECO, and that this matter was not time-barred pursuant to IMRF rules.

Motion: Kuehne Second: Piechocinski

Ayes: Kuehne, Stulir, Piechocinski, Henry, Copper

Nays: None Motion Passed: 5-0

## (13-12-05)(Renewal of Medical Consultant Contracts)

After discussion, the Committee recommends that the Board approve the renewal of the Medical Consultant Contracts as amended.

Motion: Henry

Second: Piechocinski

Ayes: Piechocinski, Kuehne, Stulir, Henry, Copper

Nays: None Motion Passed: 5-0

### (13-12-06)(Public Comments)

There were no public comments made

## (13-12-07)(Adjournment)

Mrs. Henry made a motion to adjourn at 1:30 p.m. Seconded by Mr. Piechocinski.

Motion passed by unanimous voice vote

The next regular scheduled meeting of the Committee will be at 11:00 a.m. on Thursday January 23, 2014.

Chairperson	Date
Clerk	Date

Minutes - 12-2013