MEETING NO: 12-08-D BENEFIT REVIEW COMMITTEE

The Regular Meeting of the Benefit Review Committee of the Board of Trustees was held Thursday, August 23, 2012. Present at the meeting were Committee members Copper, Faklis, Henry, Stulir, and Piechocinski; and IMRF staff members, Dixon, Seputis, Kosiba, Janicki Clark, O'Brien, and Raitt.

Andrew Fiske, from the law firm of Holland and Knight, was present as a public visitor.

(12-08-01)(Roll call)

Ms. Faklis presided as chairperson and called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m.

(12-08-02)(Approval of prior meeting minutes)

The Benefits Manager presented the minutes from the Committee meeting held on July 26, 2012.

After discussion, Mrs. Henry moved to approve the minutes. Seconded by Mr. Stulir.

Motion passed by unanimous voice vote

<u>12-08-03)(Disputed Return to Work Hearing – Termination of Pension – Joe Bisch – City of Grayville)</u>

See the attached report

After further discussion, the Committee recommends that the Board determine that Mr. Bisch must participate in IMRF while he in the position of Mayor of Grayville; that his pension be suspended during such time; and that the amount of the prepayment of pension benefits paid to Mr. Bisch during the time he returned to the office of Mayor of the City of Grayville after 2007 be calculated as only the portion of his pension arising from his wages and service as Mayor, while he held the office of Mayor.

Motion: Copper Second: Piechocinski

Ayes: Henry, Piechocinski, Stulir, Copper, Faklis

Nays: None Motion Passed: 5-0

(12-08-04)(Staff request for Administrative Ruling-Thomas Sheahan/Village of Oak Brook)

The Associate General Counsel presented a memo to the Committee requesting the Committee to rule on the jurisdiction of the Committee, and ultimately the Board, to make an administrative decision regarding the constitutionality of a public act and the legislation resulting therefrom.

After further discussion, the Committee recommends that the Board uphold staff's determination that the Board does not possess jurisdiction to determine the issue of the constitutionality of the MBEAF transfer legislation (P.A. 95-504).

Motion: Henry Second: Copper

Ayes: Henry, Piechocinski, Stulir, Copper, Faklis

Nays: None Motion Passed: 5-0

(12-08-05)(Disability Claim Hearing – Deferred Discussions)

A. Cynthia Hildebrand – T&P Disability Denial – Deferred Appeal

The Benefits Manager presented an informational memo to the Committee advising the Committee that Cynthia Hildebrand has decided to begin her IMRF pension rather than pursue her appeal of the denial of her claim form T&P disability benefits.

B. Tammy Akers- T&P Disability Denial – Deferred Appeal

See the attached report

After further discussion, the Committee recommends that the Board uphold staff's determination to deny the application for total and permanent disability benefits filed by Tammy Akers.

Motion: Henry Second: Piechocinski

Ayes: Henry, Piechocinski, Stulir, Copper, Faklis

Nays: None Motion Passed: 5-0

Louis Kosiba and Kathy O'Brien left the meeting

Dr. Miller joined the meeting

(12-08-06)(Lunch Break)

(12-08-07)(Temporary Disability Claim Hearing – Extent Denial – Emma Edwards – City of Calumet City)

See the attached report

After further discussion, the Committee recommends that the Board uphold staff's determination to deny the application for temporary disability benefits filed by Emma Edwards.

Motion: Copper Second: Stulir

Ayes: Henry, Piechocinski, Stulir, Copper, Faklis

Nays: None Motion Passed: 5-0

Louis Kosiba and Kathy O'Brien rejoined the meeting

(12-08-08)(Disputed Felony Forfeiture – Sharon Hyde)

See the attached report

Beth Janicki Clark left the meeting prior to the Committee's deliberation. The Committee heard comments from Ms. O'Brien and Mr. Kosiba.

After further discussion, the Committee recommends that the Board of Trustees uphold staff's determination that Sharon Hyde has forfeited her right to an IMRF pension due to a felony conviction that was related to, arose out of or was connected with her employment with the Village of Island Lake.

Motion: Piechocinski Second: Copper

Ayes: Copper, Piechocinski, Henry, Stulir, Faklis

Nays: None Motion Passed: 5-0

(12-08-09)(Adjournment)

Mrs. Copper made a motion to adjourn at 2:06 p.m. Seconded by Mr. Piechocinski.

Motion passed by unanimous voice vote

The next regular scheduled meeting of the Committee will be at 10:30 a.m. on Thursday September 27, 2012.

Page 4 - August 2012 BRC Meeting

Chairperson	Date
Clerk	Date

Minut201208