MEETING NO: 11-11-D BENEFIT REVIEW COMMITTEE

The Regular Meeting of the Benefit Review Committee of the Board of Trustees was held on Thursday, November 17, at 2211 York Road, Oak Brook, Illinois. Present at the meeting were Committee members Copper, Faklis, and Rademacher; IMRF Medical Consultant Dr DeVara; IMRF Psychiatric Consultant Dr. Miller; and IMRF staff members, Dixon, Glover, Hawkins, Seputis, Glover, and Raitt.

(11-11-01)(Roll call)

Ms. Rademacher presided as chairperson and called the meeting to order at 11:10 a.m.

Absent Trustee Shoop

(11-11-02)(Approval of prior meeting minutes)

The Benefits Manager presented the minutes from the Committee meeting held on October 27, 2011.

After discussion, Mrs. Copper moved to approve the minutes as amended. Seconded by Ms. Faklis.

Approved by unanimous voice vote

(11-11-03)(Temporary Disability Eligibility Extent Denial Hearing – Dianna Hale – Eastern Illinois Area Special Education District)

See attached report

After further discussion, the Committee recommends that the application for temporary disability benefits filed by Dianna Hale be approved.

Motion:FaklisSecond:CopperAyes:Copper, Faklis, RademacherNays:NoneMotion passed: 3-0Trustee Shoop joined the above hearing during progress and therefore did notparticipate in the deliberation or vote.

Prior to the hearing for Lashun Johnson Trustee Copper recused herself from the deliberation and vote on this matter due to a possible conflict of interest.

(11-11-04)(Temporary Disability Eligibility Extent Termination Hearing – Lashun Johnson – Evanston School District #202) See attached report

After further discussion, the Committee recommends that the temporary disability benefits for Lashun Johnson be terminated effective October 1, 2011.

Motion:FaklisSecond:ShoopAyes:Faklis, Shoop, RademacherNays:NoneMotion passed: 3-0

(11-11-05)(Lunch Break)

(11-11-06)(Temporary Disability Eligibility Extent Termination Hearing – Laura Lakan – LaSalle County)

See attached report

After further discussion, the Committee recommends that the temporary disability benefits for Laura Lakan be terminated effective January 26, 2011.

Motion:ShoopSecond:CopperAyes:Copper, Faklis, Shoop, RademacherNays:NoneMotion passed: 4-0

Dr. Miller left the meeting

(11-11-07)(Total and Permanent Disability Eligibility Extent Denial Hearing – John Duering – Will County)

John Duering and his brother appeared before the Committee. The Committee heard comments from Mr. Duering and his brother regarding his claimed medical condition. Mr. Duering answered questions from the Committee. The Committee also heard comments from Dr. DeVara. Finally, the Committee reviewed the written materials that were submitted to the Committee by staff.

After further discussion the Committee defers making a recommendation regarding the application for total and permanent disability benefits filed by John Duering.

Furthermore the Committee requests that John Duering undergo an independent Functional Capacity Examination (FCE).

Furthermore, the Committee requests that staff, and if necessary the IMRF Medical Consultant, review the FCE report and refer this matter back to the Committee if such review(s) do not change staff's original determination.

Motion:CopperSecond:FaklisAyes:Copper, Faklis, Shoop, RademacherNays:NoneMotion passed: 4-0

Dr. DeVara left the meeting

(11-11-08)(Disputed Tier Enrollment Hearing – Becky Bieber – City of Clinton Hospital)

See attached report

Beth Janicki Clark left the meeting prior to deliberation

After further discussion, the Committee recommends that the Fund allow Becky Bieber to be enrolled as a participating member effective December 31, 2010. Furthermore, that other employees of the Clinton Hospital, in similar circumstances, be given the opportunity to enroll in IMRF.

Furthermore, that all such enrollments must be received by the Fund no later than December 31, 2011.

Motion:ShoopSecond:CopperAyes:Copper, Faklis, Shoop, RademacherNays:NoneMotion passed: 4-0

(11-11-09)(Adjournment)

Mrs. Copper made a motion to adjourn at 3:15 p.m. Seconded by Mr. Shoop.

Unanimous voice vote

The next regular scheduled meeting of the Committee will be at 11:00 on Thursday January 26, 2012.

Chairperson

Date

Clerk

Date

Minute1111